Erika Clesi | England

Royal Holloway University of London (UF Exchange)
English & Sociology, Mass Communication Studies & Communication Studies

Why did you select your study abroad program?
One reason Royal Holloway is the perfect study abroad spot for me is because of its beautiful campus! Royal Holloway is located in the heart of Egham, a small countryside town, which I think will remind me of home. From Royal Holloway, I can also catch a short train ride to the heart of London to live out my journalist dreams…BBC STUDIOS HERE I COME! Royal Holloway offers a wide curriculum too, and I’m ecstatic to take their English, sociology, criminology, film, television and digital production modules!

What kind of previous international travel experience do you have?
While Royal Holloway will be my first time studying abroad, I’m no stranger to travelling! I’ve explored countries like Denmark, Serbia and Sweden. One of the coolest cities I’ve visited is Copenhagen, where I got to see Den lille Havfrue (The Little Mermaid). I’m so excited to add England to my list!

What are you most NERVOUS about going into your study abroad?
I’m so EXCITED to meet new people! Royal Holloway has such a diverse student population, made up of local and international students. I cannot wait to dive into English culture and taste a variety of teas!

What are you most EXCITED about going into your study abroad?
I’m definitely NERVOUS about getting around in Egham because I won’t be able to drive my car like I usually do in the States. From my previous experiences travelling, I’ve learned that public transport is more common in Europe than in the States. After some quick research on England, I’ve found some helpful tips, like purchasing an “Oyster” card to use for public transport in London.

.

Erika’s Posts

  • Erika’s Guide to All Things London November 30, 2021 - Home to double-decker buses, telephone booths, and a 300-year-old tea shop, London is a bustling city! Below, I’ve compiled some tips and tricks to make the most out of your time while visiting the historic city. BOOTHS AND BUSES: A bright red telephone booth at 216 Strand in London and a double-decker passes by The Old Bank of England. TIP 1: PURCHASE A RAILCARD For …

Leave a comment