The Beginning of the End

It’s that time of the semester again, where I crawl into a hole for the better part of two weeks only to reappear in the end with my completed term papers. Like last semester, I took a couple courses through the University of Bonn itself, not just its international office. The only way I could make this year abroad work was if I took at least two classes each semester for my English major, which inevitably came along with writing term papers. I’m only complaining a little bit. I like the topics for my term papers and find the content interesting to study, but I don’t particularly enjoy having to write them while also having to worry about moving out of Germany.

My time here on exchange is quickly coming to a close, with my last semester finishing up, and the dorm move-out date looming at the end of the month. I’ll save all my sentimentality for my final, farewell post, but it is going to be strange to go after having made myself a little home here in Bonn. A friend came to visit me recently, and I was showing her around the town, and we went to Cologne. It almost felt like a farewell tour for me. Between writing my papers and wading through the paperwork of moving countries, I doubt I’ll have time to make it back up to Cologne before I leave.

I’ve enjoyed my time visiting the city, since it was so close to Bonn, and I’ll definitely miss it once I’m gone. But, enough of that for now. You’ll get to hear from a weepy, nostalgic Mikayla in not too long. I haven’t left yet though, and despite the fact that I’ll likely spend most of my time either in a library or at a cafe that has wifi, I still have a little less than two weeks still in Germany. Time to make the most of it.

Leave a comment