Joyce Walpole: Summer in Seoul, South Korea

Year: Rising Sophomore
Major/Minor: Economics (and hopefully a double major in International Studies)
Program: EWHA Womans University

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and why?
I have! My mom is from the Philippines and I have family in Europe, so I have been to many different countries in Europe and Asia. My favorite countries I have been to so far are the Philippines, Japan, and England.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where, when, and for what?
I studied abroad for a short while in high school. I went to a summer program via Greenheart Travel in Fukuoka, Japan, in my junior year of high school.

Where are you studying abroad this time and why did you choose this location & program?
I am studying abroad in Seoul, Korea, at EWHA Womans University. I am going to be studying there with two of my close friends from USF. I wanted to study abroad to explore a new culture and take classes that would help with double majoring in international studies. I chose Korea not only to go on an exciting adventure with my friends, but also to delve deeper into Korean history, culture and politics. I also wanted to take Korean language classes and be fully immersed in learning the language.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program? What are you most nervous about?
I cannot wait to meet all the different people while I am abroad, from other international students studying abroad to the Korean students at the university. I am also super excited to try all the new foods in Korea, most particularly Korean street food. I love Korean food and am really looking forward to having authentic and fresh Korean food.

I am most nervous about finding my way around Korean subway and bus systems successfully, especially because I don’t know Korean well enough yet and don’t want to rely heavily on Google Maps while I am abroad.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
I love everything related to music. I love listening to different genres of music. I also play the guitar and piano and enjoy learning new songs. In addition to music, I also enjoy doing Tae-Kwon-Do, and I have practiced it for ten years.

Anything else you would like us to know about you?
My favorite thing to do is spend time with my dog. I love all animals, but my dog has a special place in my heart.

3 thoughts on “Joyce Walpole: Summer in Seoul, South Korea

  1. This is so exciting! I just left Korea and I’m now on my way to India for my study abroad program. Have fun and definitely eat all the street food 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.