Alexa: Autumn in Maastricht

Alexa Carrie is a University of Florida student studying abroad during Fall 2017 in Maastricht, Netherlands.  To learn more about Alexa’s program, click here: Maastricht University School of Business and Economics.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am going into my third year, and I am dual majoring in Industrial and Systems Engineering and Economics.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I went on a cruise to Mexico and the Cayman Islands when I was much younger, but other than that I have not traveled abroad.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    I have not studied abroad before, this will be my first time.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying abroad in Maastricht, the Netherlands at Maastricht University. I knew I wanted to study somewhere in Europe, and after talking with multiple people about their experiences, I knew it was the right place for me. The weather there is perfect for a Florida girl who’s tired of the heat and humidity. It rains a lot there as well, which is something I’ve always loved – dark, ominous clouds, the drizzling of rain on windows, the crack of thunder and the flash of lightning. I’m very excited to experience all of its beauty, from the quaint houses to the canals and streetside bakeries. The Dutch are also known to be very laid back people, and I know I’ll enjoy their company. Also, Maastricht University is a great school with many opportunities for involvement.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    There are a couple of things in particular that I am looking forward to, though honestly I could go on and on about everything I’m looking forward to (the festivals and holidays, the cultures, building relationships with people from all over the world, the food, etc). One thing I’ve always wanted to see was the Northern Lights, so that is definitely something at the top of my bucket list. Along with this, I’m really hoping to travel as much as I can. I’ve saved up money from an internship all summer so that I can visit places I’m eager to see such as the Nordic countries, Switzerland, the UK and Russia. The final thing I’m looking forward to is my educational and professional endeavors. I just recently added on my Economics degree, and I’m very excited about two of the classes I’m taking (Game Theory and Economics and Behavioral Economics). In addition to this, I will be a Research Intern at the Maastricht University Center for Neuroeconomics, and I’m very excited to be able to conduct hands-on research about interesting topics and with such intelligent people.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I’ve always been very avid about sports and the outdoors. I played soccer for about 15 years and have always loved the sport. In high school, I was on the soccer, cross country and track teams and still run when I get the chance to. When I’ve had the opportunity, I enjoy doing outdoor activities such as hiking, exploring trails, snorkeling, kayaking, etc. Since college and having to fend for myself, I’ve also begun to enjoy cooking and baking. Reading and writing is another aspect I use to relax. And of course, Netflix, naps, and eating yummy food are an integral part of my typical hobbies.
  • Anything else you would like us to know about you?
    I’m incredibly excited for this opportunity, and so grateful for everyone that has supported me and helped me along the way – thank you to all my friends and family!
Leave a Reply

