Contessa: Autumn in Bangkok

Contessa Hutchins is a University of Florida student studying abroad during Fall 2017 in Bangkok, Thailand.  To learn more about Contessa’s program, click here: Chulalongkorn University.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I will be beginning my sophomore year this fall as an Accounting major in the Innovation Academy where I will be receiving a minor in Innovation.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have been to Western Europe twice with my family to visit relatives in Germany. Along with those two trips, we stopped in many of the nearby countries including France, Italy, Scotland, Ireland, England, Finland, Estonia, Austria, Switzerland, Spain, and Monaco. We also stayed in Iceland for a few days as a connection to Europe. In addition to traveling abroad, I been to over half of the United States including Hawaii and Alaska. Traveling has always been a priority for my parents and now myself.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    I have never studied abroad before so this will be the longest period of time out of the country for me and my first time traveling abroad alone.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    My study abroad will be Fall 2017 in Bangkok, Thailand at Chulalongkorn University. There are three reasons that drove me towards Thailand: 1) I’ve always wanted to go to Asia, 2) the Heavener School of Business is partnered with Chulalongkorn so I can take core business classes for UF credit, and 3) Thailand is the most affordable.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I’m most excited to travel around Thailand and see the surrounding countries. Southeast Asia is a beautiful area and I can’t wait to see it first-hand. I am also excited to meet people from all over the world. Not only will I be taking classes with local Thai students but also, because this is an exchange program, I will meet people from all over the world.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    Some things I enjoy doing are watching TV and movies. Two of my favorite TV shows are Game of Thrones and Rick & Morty – both happen to be airing new seasons during my study abroad (fingers crossed for cable). I also really enjoy just being outside either hiking or walking around the city, anything to get me out and about. I also love animals and will probably be very homesick for my two chihuahuas and cat, but it’s all part of the experience!
Leave a Reply

