Anticipation Crawls Under

Before I even step foot on the plane, I’m already nervous. My study abroad trip starts in one week and it’s hard to imagine that I’m going to be studying in a different country. I’m going to Rio de Janeiro, a gorgeous beach town that I have visited various times throughout the years. Although it is somewhere I have vacationed, I have never been immersed into Brazilian culture further than my extended family.

Generally, I think everyone has the same fears for a study abroad: am I going to get along with the host family? Am I going to make friends with my classmates? How will I handle being away from my friends and family?

All of these fears seem based on logic but at the same time, I know that I’m just overreacting. I have been to Brazil before and I really wanted to experience studying abroad because I want to study and that focus reminds me that this experience will be what I make of it. Soon I will experience a completely new style of living and I’m okay with that.

I wanted to include a picture that I took last time I visited Rio de Janeiro to remind myself of the beauty that I will be experiencing and to realize how exciting this experience will be. Hopefully, everyone will enjoy the ride as much as I will!

Bem vindos! (Welcome!)

One thought on “Anticipation Crawls Under

Leave a Reply

