The Last Airbender

I have been lucky enough to travel to Beijing, in case most of you missed the occurrences of my life lately. So far, things have been going really well for me, minus sickness! There haven’t been that many special occasions since I’ve started working, but I somehow still find a way to do lots of new things.

Speaking of trying new things, my favorite part of China has to be the food. This weekend, I tried a squid. Some people may not know my dietary preferences, and if you fall into this category, then just know that it is an extremely large step for me. I ate Kentucky Fried Chicken for the first time in three years today, despite the fact that I am in China. I eat nothing healthy, almost ever, but KFC is a little too greasy for even me.

I think my interest in eating new foods is representative of my relatively fresh outlook on life: change does not hurt. I used to act as if I believed the opposite, never doing anything new. Staying in my comfort zone, trying not to grow as a person. These past few months, even before I left, have been dramatically different for me. I have wanted to do lots of things that I would probably have never done if I were the same as before.

I did not really want to create a theme for this blog post because I don’t really have a theme, it is more just rambling. To be fair, this is how I speak normally: with little to no coherence, and tremendous confusion. I guess you could say that I am M. Night Shyamalan, and this post is my “The Last Airbender,” because generally, his movies are quite nonsensical, but a few tend to land correctly.

I also attended my first live professional soccer game in over ten years this past weekend at the Beijing Workers’ Stadium. It was so awesome to see so many people cheering for the same thing at the same time, like at an American football game. I love soccer, but haven’t been very involved in fandom for a few years now, mostly because of the past football and basketball seasons at UF. But Sunday was amazing! I got to relax, watch a very fun live sport, get some souvenirs and gifts, and become a fan of a new team. It’s safe to say that it is something I will do again before leaving Beijing.

My brother got in a car accident while I was asleep last night, and I woke up to see my father’s message, specifically the first part that said “[Y]our brother was in a car accide…” and I was extremely scared, for a few seconds until I opened it. He is completely fine! His brakes failed, and so he had to hit a car in front of him, but luckily maneuvered just slightly enough to protect himself and the other driver. This reinforces my new thought on life: to do as much as I can while I have time. Reece has so much fun, enjoys himself, and makes people around him smile. He is an inspiration for me to live life to maximum capacity, and I will continue to grow with him in mind. Reece, I love you very much, and I am so glad that you’re okay.

So, in summary, we have “The Last Airbender…” A promising introduction, and then an immediate fall into despair, with an attempt at an emotional connection that doesn’t quite make its way to your heart. M. Night Shyamalan once said this movie was “[his] best movie,” but I think that I may be a little more self-aware. Hopefully I will return to my Tarantino-esque style, without all of the fake blood.

Leave a Reply

