Flamenco: amor y dolor

Since my last blog post, I have had so many adventures and stories, I don’t know where to start. But I guess I will begin with flamenco. I have to say, flamenco might be my most favorite thing to watch. I first saw a flamenco show about 5 or 6 years ago when I went to Madrid with my family.

This time, my friends and I decided to go see a show one night and although I was exhausted, it was one of the best decisions I have made. The show was held in Villavieja 6, a quaint, intimate bar. They were known for their mojitos, so naturally I drank one. It was quite delicious and sweet.

As I sipped the drink, the show began and I was immediately filled with emotion. Watching flamenco is unlike anything you will ever come across. I was genuinely filled with awe, joy and sadness at the same time.

Yes, flamenco does that to you.

There were people in the audience crying while others were smiling and cheering. I think that is what makes flamenco so special: it is personal and unique. Flamenco is based on passion, pain and love and hits each person in a very different way.

We were told that the dancer was ‘world’s fastest feet’ (and I definitely believe it). His name is José Miguel (El Escarpín).

José danced with this intimacy and intensity that can only come from a place of dolor and amor; I later learned he was only 16 years old.

Something else struck me that night. Towards the end of the show, one of the musicians said “[José] baila con sentimiento, con amor. Y baile para darle alegría a vosotros. Porque flamenco es eso, eh? Alegría; es amor. Y hay guerra por allí, hay muchas cosas malas. Aquí venimos para flamenco y en esta casa tan bonita, tan acogedora, espero verlo otra vez porque aquí es donde se vive flamenco de verdad, aquí en España y se trabaja de corazón”.

This show was amazing because not only is it something unique to experience, but it provokes you to dive deep into your emotional self, which for me is pretty hard to do on my own.

Flamenco is something I would DEFINITELY recommend to anyone if they travel to Spain.

I am so blessed that I was able to experience flamenco in this deep way once again.

image11

image10

image9

image1

One thought on “Flamenco: amor y dolor

  1. Love and pain…yes!!! These and all the feelings in between are why I dance flamenco myself and have been studying it for five years now. I am so glad that you got to experience that intensity and raw emotion. Flamenco definitely is a force to be reckoned with. Thank you for sharing your experience! Ole!

Leave a Reply

