Madrid: History, Culture and Food

I read this quote once from Saint Augustine that I love: “The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.”
Saint Augustine of Hippo couldn’t have said it any better. I feel like I am already ‘reading’ the chapter of Madrid and I have only been here for 2 days!

What a joyous time it has been!! I am obviously dealing with major jet lag and was up for about 30 hours straight while traveling, but thank the Lord I am alive and well!

I have met some great people and have enjoyed every bit of exploring Madrid and Segovia! Tomorrow we will be heading to Toledo (one of my favorite places).

Anyways, today I wanted to talk about sangria. Oh my goodness. I have had the BEST Sangria ever. I had regular red wine sangria and also what the Madrileños call “Limonada de Madrid” (Madrid lemonade, or white wine sangria). They had the most fresh and fruity taste! My new friends and I all ordered some and enjoyed them!

Yesterday we went to the Palacio Real de Madrid (the palace of royalty in Spain) and Museo Nacional del Prado (the art museum that contains many pieces by Goya, Velázquez, and El Greco). Both buildings were so stunning!! We also went to a market called Mercado de San Miguel. It is an open-air market with an amazing variety of fresh food, pastries, wine, cheeses and coffee. It had this cheerful ambiance and I couldn’t help but just be happy!

This Madrid Field Study has taught me so much already about the history of certain parts of Spain and I definitely feel more confident in my Spanish speaking skills. The professors are so friendly and patient and truly want to help us grow in our skills!

I know I made the right choice by coming to Spain because even though I am mostly fluent Spanish, I am surrounded by the language and culture and it has already me to keep practicing. I can’t wait for what’s to come and for more people to meet and places to see!

IMG_1483

IMG_1649

IMG_1659

Leave a Reply

