I Have an Intense Case of Wanderlust

Sometimes life throws some pretty big curveballs at us. We don’t expect some things to happen the way they do, but ultimately these unexpected things can lead to something amazing. This year of college threw a lot of curveballs my way, but it led to Alicante: my something amazing.

My name is Allie Jackson and I will be studying abroad in Spain in less than 2 weeks!

I chose Alicante, Spain foremost because of the excellent courses offered to improve my Spanish skills, but also because of some of these unique aspects: its rich culture and traditions like the city-wide fire festival (Hogueras de San Juan), its vibrant historical castles and churches, its rich location on the sandy beaches of Costa Blanca, its beautiful climate and the small city feel that many love.

I really do not think it has hit me yet that I will be heading to Europe in a few short weeks. However, I come to think how amazing this opportunity really is. I didn’t know if it would be possible to study abroad during my college career or if I was ready to, but thanks to the University of Florida International Center, I was able to find the perfect program to study abroad with USAC (University Studies Abroad Consortium).

As an Advertising student working on a minor in Spanish and a focus in International Communications, I am incredibly excited to bring it all together while abroad. Traveling is a huge blessing and an opportunity to explore outside of my comfort zone and expand my mind. To be completely immersed in a different culture and way of life on my own is a dream that I have had for a long time. I am thankful to be able to live it out in just a couple of days!

Although I have been to Spain and other parts of Europe before, I have never traveled so far on my own! Yes, traveling alone abroad may seem like a nerve-racking endeavor, but as an adrenaline junkie (I mean, I did skydive a couple months ago), this opportunity is exhilarating!

Come join me over the next five weeks while I explore the riches of Spain through its culture, food, music, people, traditions, and the best of the Mediterranean coast.

I am truly excited and blessed and I can’t wait to show you Alicante, Spain through my lens!

Only 10 more days until I head off to Spain for the adventure of a life time 😍

 

Leave a Reply

