Kathryn: Summer in Madrid

Kathryn McAllister is a University of Florida student studying abroad during Summer C of 2017 in Madrid, Spain.  To learn more about her program, click here: UF in Madrid – Business, Language and Culture.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am Communication Sciences and Disorders Major on the Pre-Audiology track with a Minor in Business Administration. My long term goal is to eventually open my own hearing clinic!
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have traveled too Mexico, through the Caribbean Islands and around the United States, but I have never been “across the pond”! I am very excited to learn more about Spanish and European culture during my time abroad.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    I have not studied abroad before! Studying abroad has been a dream of mine for as long as I could remember. My sister and I always said we’d travel to Europe together for our high school graduation, and only now, two years later, are we making that happen. Except we will be in two different countries (me in Spain and her in Ireland)!
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I have always been fascinated by other cultures and have quite the love for traveling. My parents tell me that as a kid, one of my favorite experiences was “staying in a hotel” and trying new things in different cities. This time I’ll be going much further away; however, that love for trying new things and meeting new people remains.

    I always tell my friends and family that my long term goal is to travel all over the world (pretty much anywhere honestly)! I love watching those travel videos on Facebook and Pinterest to find cool new things to do, whether that’s in Asia, South America, etc.

    I chose to Study Abroad in Espana because the Spanish culture is so rich and vibrant. The language is beautiful, and for us native Floridians, very common in our daily environment. I hope to not only learn some Spanish, but also to learn how to cook some Spanish meals and to dance! My boyfriend and his family are from Guatemala and Venezuela, and while the culture and language varies due to the sheer geographic distance between them and Spain, I would love to be able to come home and be able to share in that aspect of their culture with them (shout out to Chris – you’re the best!!! )

  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    Hmmmm…. tough question! I’m honestly look forward to all of it! However, if I had to chose, I am most excited about seeing some of the cultural activities such as a flamenco performance or a soccer game by Real Madrid or even the Running of the Bulls! 

    Also, FOOD! I’ve heard GREAT things about Paella, churros, tortillas, etc.

  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    Honors Event Intern- plan banquets and events for Honors students

    LOL Lab – researching the relationship between executive functioning (planning) and language in Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s patients

    National Student Speech Language and Hearing Association(NSSLHA) Stride Co-Chair – plans a 5K for Cochlear Implant fund at Shand’s.

    English Learning Institute (ELI) Conversation Partner- Work with International Students to help them practice their English

    Delta Nu Zeta Service Sorority- participate in a variety of service projects and sisterhood events.

    Outside of my organizations, I love to bake, tour around Gainesville, go kayaking, and watch Gator Football and Gymnastics.

  • Anything else you would like us to know about you?
    I am so excited to be a UF from Abroad Blogger! If there’s anything in particular that you are interested in learning about Spain please comment on my posts and I’ll try to make it happen! 🙂 I am also a big picture person so be prepared for all the photos of my travels!

    Special shout-out to my parents, my brother Mike and sister Lauren,  my boyfriend Chris  and Steven Cummings for all of your support to make this trip possible! Couldn’t have done it without you all.

Leave a Reply

