Allison: Summer in Alicante

Allison Jackson is a University of Florida student studying abroad during Summer A of 2017 in Alicante, Spain.  To learn more about her program, click here: USAC – Alicante.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I just finished Sophomore year here at UF as an Advertising major with a minor in Spanish and a focus/certificate in International Communications!
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    Yes! I have been blessed to travel to many places abroad! On account of my father’s career (he is a pilot), I am extremely fortunate to say I am well traveled. In South America and Latin America I have traveled to Venezuela (2), Panama, Mexico (4), Ecuador (2), and Costa Rica (2). In Europe, I have traveled to Spain (2), Portugal, England (2), Scotland, Italy, and the Netherlands. I have also been to the Cayman Islands! We really love to explore as a family and dive into different cultures. My parents have always wanted me to experience the world.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    No, I have never studied abroad nor traveled this far away from home on my own! This is definitely going to be an amazing learning experience in many ways.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I will be studying abroad in Alicante, Spain! I have never been to this part of Spain and I really wanted a unique location that’s not a major tourist city but still be able to experience Spain! Alicante has it all: the history, the culture, the mountains, the castles, the churches, the city life, the Mediterranean beaches. Everything! I cannot wait to meet the people of Alicante and explore!
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    To practice my Spanish where the language came from! And also to meet people! I am a total extrovert and I just love making friends and learning about peoples lives.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love playing tennis, I love listening to music (from flamenco/salsa music to EDM), I love going to the beach, I love shopping for unique things, I love hiking and I REALLY love coffee (so exploring coffee shops is my thing).
  • Anything else you would like us to know about you?
    This is such a blessing and I could not do it without the support of my family and friends! I leave in about a month and I could not be more excited to learn, dive into a different culture, meet people and explore! Life is good!

Leave a Reply

