Amanda: Summer in Australia

Amanda Posa is a University of Florida student studying abroad during Summer A of 2017 in Australia.  To learn more about her program, click here: UF in North Queensland – Sustaining Humans and their Environment.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am entering my third year at UF. My major is Elementary Education and my minor is Sustainability Studies.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have left the country three times, twice to Costa Rica and once to Mexico. I went to Cancun, Mexico for a vacation with a friend. And I visited Costa Rica twice because my older sister lived there for two years as she attained her master’s degree at a university there. I love warm weather, so both of these places were extremely enjoyable for me!
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying abroad this summer in North Queensland, Australia. I chose to do so because it offers a very hands-on and engaging sustainability course in which I will be able to experience the natural environment first hand, including the Outback, the Daintree Rainforest, and the Great Barrier Reef.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I am most looking forward to spending  much of my time outdoors, totally immersed in nature, observing different ecosystems and the wildlife that exist. I am also excited to learn about another culture and how they perceive and treat their natural environment.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    My personal interests include playing volleyball and tennis, writing, environmental science, working with children, advocating for animals’ rights, listening and playing music, and taking part in outdoor activities like hiking, camping, or boating.
  • Anything else you would like us to know about you?
    I hope to inspire more students to travel and take classes abroad as it can be extremely insightful on the wonderful diversity of the world and can help you find out who you truly are as a human being!
Leave a Reply

