Victoria: Summer in Osnabruck

Victoria Steinnecker is a University of Florida student studying abroad in Summer A 2017 in Osnabrück, Germany.  To learn more about her program, click here: UF in Osnabrück – Sustainability and Innovation in Engineering and Planning.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am studying Land and Water Resource Engineering through the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering. I am in my fourth year as an undergraduate and I will be taking graduate classes in the fall in perusal of a Master’s degree in Civil Engineering with a focus on water resources.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have been to Canada, Mexico, an array of Caribbean Islands and 10 European countries which I visited at too young of an age to remember. Most of these travels were vacations with my parents who are both retired Navy pilots. I mostly remember the 4-years we lived in Puerto Rico (where my little sister was born) and attending a Formula One race at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    This will be my first study abroad experience!
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I will be studying in northern Germany in a city called Osnabruck, which is known as the City of Peace for its role in a peace treaty that ended the Thirty Years’ War in 1648. I chose to study in Osnabruck because I am a German descendant and I have heard that Germany has the best engineers. Also, my Spanish professor told me that the best way to learn a new language is to spend 6-weeks in its country of origin.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    Honestly, I am really excited for the classes; I will be studying post-industrial development of metals, experimentation with polymers, technological innovations in agriculture, transportation and renewable energy, and design in 3-dimensional additive manufacturing. If any of this sounds completely foreign, get ready to learn because I will be sharing these educational experiences in my blog posts. Also, I am excited to experience German food and culture, and to travel around Europe after my program.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I have been called a mountain goat and a mermaid, and I will always be torn between the two. I love hiking any terrain and I love the water whether its fresh or salty. I also enjoy reading, cooking (and eating!) and building and/or fixing things.
  • Anything else you would like us to know about you?
    I recently learned that when a foreign exchange student will be living with a host family, the student writes a letter to the family, and this letter often begins, “before I introduce myself, let me introduce my family.” So, I am the middle child of two retired Navy pilots, Chris and Liz Steinnecker; my dad is from Ohio and my mom is from south Florida. I have a younger sister who is graduating high school this year, and an older brother who was born in the Philippines and will be wedding Kyra Eve into the family this fall. My loving boyfriend, Mikal, is also a University of Florida student and will be studying enology and viticulture this summer in France.
One thought on “Victoria: Summer in Osnabruck

  1. Pingback: Are You Scared? | UF Blog From Abroad

Leave a Reply

