Heather: Summer in Belize

Heather Kershner Foudray is a University of Florida student studying abroad for a week in Summer A 2017 in Belize.  To learn more about her program, click here: UF in Belize – Marine Ecology and Conservation.

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a senior in the online Environmental Science IS program. I am focusing my efforts on ecology and habitat loss prevention for coastal regions. I would love to continue my education in conservation and sustainability practices.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have never traveled abroad before. I’m a military spouse and brat and the furthest I’ve gone is Hawaii.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    Nope.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying Ecology and Conservation in the tropics, specifically the barrier reef systems off the coast of Belize. I chose this because I am passionate about the coral reef bleaching and loss we are experiencing from rising ocean temperatures and increased eco tourism. Ideally I would love to help find a way to partner sustainable eco tourism with conservation practices so further loss is prevented.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    Field work! I have never had the opportunity to have real field study time. I can’t wait to get there and do real research, not just volunteer activist work.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love theater, singing, hiking, SCUBA diving (I’m a divemaster!), and sharing all of these experiences with my children and husband.
  • Anything else you would like us to know about you?
    I am a mom to 4 amazing kiddos and am doing my best to instill a passion for our Earth wonder for the world around them. I have a supportive husband who spends his time fighting for other’s freedom while still ensuring I have time to follow my dreams as well. I am a non traditional student who attended UF well over a decade ago for nursing. I’m very thankful for modern technology and online programs so I can follow my dreams of being a scientist and working to save our oceans!

Leave a Reply

