Jared: Spring in Barcelona

Jared Blinderman is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Spring 2017 in Barcelona, Spain.  To learn more about his program, click here: ESCI (Pompeu Fabra).

jared-blinderman

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a junior finance major and I am also pursuing a minor in real estate!
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have traveled to Canada to go skiing and have been to Israel on a family vacation. On the way back from Israel we missed a connecting flight and got to spend the night in London. It was pretty frustrating at the time, but made for a cool blog profile picture so I guess there’s a silver lining in everything.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    I have never studied abroad before which makes this experience that much more exciting.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying at the ESCI program at Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona, Spain. I chose to study in Barcelona because when I was in elementary school I had family visit and have wanted to go ever since. I also have friends who have studied abroad in Barcelona and say it was the time of their lives. I’m also excited to brush up on my Spanish during my four months there.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I am definitely looking forward to immersing myself in the culture and making a ton of friends who actually live in Spain and Europe at large. I’m also really excited to get out of my comfort zone and expand my horizons. By leaving my comfort zone I’m looking forward to growing as a person and widening my view of the world through this journey. Lastly, I can’t wait to visit a ton of different places in Europe and hopefully see the Northern Lights which is on my bucket list!
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love music, politics, visiting the beach, and going on exciting adventures. I am also a die hard sports fan. Getting to see the Barcelona soccer team play with my own two eyes will probably be one of the coolest days of my life. Watching Lionel Messi play soccer is like magic to me.
Leave a Reply

