Plot Twist: I’m in London

Do you remember when friends would tease you as a child for taking the stairs into the pool, rather than just diving into the deep end? Well, I’m sorry everyone but I’ve definitely taken the stairs into study abroad.

Rather than jumping into a language barrier and unfamiliar country right out of the gate, I decided to warm up with a week in the United Kingdom visiting family friends and our old hometown with my mom. So after months of nerves, and some very last minute packing the night before departure, I found myself headed onto a BritishAir flight to Gatwick. And, even though I had written and rewritten packing lists making sure to bring everything I could possibly need, I couldn’t help but feel unprepared for what was to come in the next three months.

Landing and clearing customs was a breeze, and my mom and I were quickly off in a fun-size rental car to our destination. With only one night to adjust, we promptly passed out to get ready for my birthday in London the very next day. It was definitely a birthday to remember, to say the least:

After a week of hilarity adjusting to driving on the wrong side of the road, having baked beans for breakfast (yes seriously), and tea at every hour of the day, I wouldn’t have changed a thing. It was so refreshing to be back in England, exploring every corner of London and Norfolk, that I didn’t have time to worry about my quick flight to Madrid tomorrow. Which, by the way, came at me much quicker than I was ready for.

Headed to Spain I feel confident and excited for the change of pace! It is also occurring to me that I know very little Spanish and probably even less of the culture and history of Seville, but it’ll be fine, right? Here’s hoping!

Hasta la próxima!

Leave a Reply

