How Spontaneity Brought Me to London

IMG_0194

Hello Everyone!!

I am very happy to post my first blog!! To start off, I have to apologize for taking so long to post. Moving to Poitiers, France has taken some getting used to, but that is a story for another post.

Today, I really want to share what last week was like. I had my first class on Monday, August 28th and then found out that the rest of my classes would not start until the following week. French methodology for courses has taken a while to get used to, but I was not going to complain about 5 extra days of summer! I had to be quick on my feet and decide what to do with these 5 days-next thing I knew I was on a plane to London!

This trip was very spontaneous ( I bought my plane ticket 12 hours before boarding the plane), and I was a bit nervous since it was my first time going to London. I thought I had already mentally prepared myself for spontaneous, solo trips throughout Europe, but now that it was actually happening I could not believe it. One moment I was sitting in class and the next I was on a plane to a different country.

I was definitely scared and nervous as I doubted whether or not the spontaneity would leave me with a bad taste in my mouth or if it would motivate me to keep traveling. I am happy to say that although I did come back with a cough because of the crazy, rainy London weather, there was not a bad taste in my mouth. The trip was amazing, and I was a total tourist walking around with my map, selfie stick, and backpacking book bag, but  I have to note that if I had let my fears win over spontaneity and swallow my love of adventure that it would have never happened.

In my perspective, studying abroad is about testing the limits we have set for ourselves. We have to go beyond our deepest fears, get on random planes, try not to die in new cities, and hope to buy food fit for our taste buds regardless of all the labels and descriptions in other languages. While being abroad, I am challenging myself to not be scared of the unknown.  During my time abroad I am living a once in a lifetime opportunity full of experiences that I will miss if I think it over too much.

So whether you are abroad  or planning to be, I really encourage you all to test your daily fears. Yes try to challenge yourself to overcome social structures and stereotypes imposed by others, but also challenge yourself to overcome those personal fears and obstacles that keep you up at night.  While abroad we have a chance to taste bits and pieces of the world. No, it will not all be perfect, but how will we really know what we are made of if we do not challenge ourselves to try new food, to communicate with someone who does not speak our language, or to visit that city we always dreamt of visiting but never dared ourselves to actually visit.

Let spontaneity take over your fears once in a while and just see where it takes you-It took me to London!

If you challenge yourself to be spontaneous this week, please comment below what it is that you set out to do!!

Thank you everyone!! Talk to you soon!

P.S. My picture for this post was actually taken in a random alley way of London after I took the wrong turn and spontaneously ended up in a beautiful part of the city that was not on my itinerary. The wonders of spontaneity just keep coming!

Leave a Reply

