Rachel: Fall in Saint Petersburg

Rachel Neale is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Fall 2016 in Saint Petersburg, Russia.  To learn more about her program, click here: CIEE – St. Petersburg.

Neale, Rachel

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a fourth year psychology and international studies double major, with a minor in Russian.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    Yes, once before to Israel in the past week or so. I went to visit a close friend and explore the “Promise land”.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    No, I have not.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying abroad in St. Petersburg, Russia. I chose to study there in order to experience the culture and meet the people I’ve dedicated my education to.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I’m most looking forward to getting first-hand perspectives on topics in my studies, such as the Soviet lifestyle, Putin’s regime, and what it’s like living in a country that’s been through so much transition. I’m also very excited for the Bolshoi and Mariinsky theaters, which are the venues for Russian ballet!
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I’m very interested in art, theater, and ethnography and my hobbies are yoga, photography, and cycling!

Leave a Reply

