Lauren: Fall in Seville

Lauren Barnard is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Fall 2016 in Seville, Spain.  To learn more about her program, click here: ISA – Seville (Universidad Internacional Menendez Pelayo Education in a Multicultural Context).

Barnard, Lauren

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a Senior in the Unified Elementary ProTeach Program within the College of Education.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    As a military child, I am fortunate enough to have moved and traveled around quite a bit. I lived in Attleborough, England during primary school and was able to see much of Europe with my family during those years. I have also traveled to Guatemala on a Florida Alternative Breaks trip to study education inequality, and most recently went on a week-long road trip of Canada’s maritime provinces!
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    Nope, never.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I chose to spend my fall semester in Sevilla, Spain! I landed on Sevilla after considering the city’s overall beauty and rich culture, as well as my program’s internship component within local schools. It also didn’t hurt that there’s a Starbucks (kidding, mostly).
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    Siestas, tapas, flamenco dancing, and my photography course. I would also love to watch a few fútbol games and, who knows, maybe even a bullfight.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love to run, so I can’t wait to explore Sevilla’s cobblestone streets in my Nike’s. I also love SEC football, cooking for my family, and drinking coffee at all hours of the day.

Leave a Reply

