Briana: Fall in Florence

Briana Lirio is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Fall 2016 in Florence, Italy.  To learn more about her program, click here: FSU – Florence.

Lirio, Briana

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    My name is Briana Lirio and I am a public relations major at the University of Florida’s College of Journalism and Communications. My minor is in business, which I am planning to continue pursuing in graduate school.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I actually have never left the country, which makes this experience a lot more exciting for me. I’ve only ridden on a plane once before, and that was at the age of nine and to New York, so I do not remember much about it.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    I have never studied abroad before, so the next three and a half months in Italy will be the first time I experience any type of cultural immersion.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying abroad in Florence, Italy under the UF approved program “FSU in Florence.” I chose Italy because I wanted to go somewhere I have never been to before where it would be easy for me to become culturally immersed. I believe that because I am fluent in Spanish it will be easy for me to learn Italian, and that language is the foundation of most cultures.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I am looking forward to exploring the different cities within Italy. I would love to personally experience seeing the artwork I have read so much about growing up.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love to read, my favorite book of all time is “Crime and Punishment.” Fyodor Dostoevsky does an excellent job of making the reader sympathize with a protagonist that can best be described as an anti-hero, someone who society would deem as unfit to live among us. However, most of my free time is spent doing the typical college student “stuff.” I love to go out with friends, and spend time with my family. I consider myself a food connoisseur (I once ate a burger that weighed 3 pounds, all on my own. I was so proud of myself I wanted to put it under the skills portion of my resume). I can binge watch Netflix for hours, and will only schedule my bathroom breaks between episodes in order to reach maximum watching efficiency. I love to try new things, even if I regret it immediately after. For my 19th birthday I went skydiving. It was probably one of the worst experiences of my life, but I got some great photos for my Instagram so it was worth it. Fun fact, I am really good at knitting, I’ve gotten awards at the county fair for some of my work. I started knitting in high school because it seemed like an interesting skill to have, and I thought it would impress guys (I was wrong). It has been my dream ever since I was young to visit Italy, and I’m very excited that it will soon become a reality.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s