The Final Countdown

Part two of my late update of the past two weeks:

I cannot believe this is my last week in Barcelona. I’m completely in denial. How has it been six weeks already???? I have two final exams left (one Wednesday and one Thursday) then that’s it. I’m leaving Barcelona and taking a train to Madrid right after my last exam Thursday morning. It’s so weird to think that my program is basically over and even weirder to think that I probably won’t see the majority of people I met here ever again. Of course I’ll see my UF friends, but who knows about all the other random friends in my program from schools all over the country. Like, “Hey it was fun spending the best six weeks of my life with you in a foreign country, but bye forever, have a good life!!!” So strange. My roommates from Towson have already been planning a visit to UF for a game day in the fall, and I really hope that works out. Living together for this long and becoming such good friends then never seeing each other again would be pretty depressing.

So I’ve checked a couple more things off my bucket list

  1. Brunch and Cake: The most touristy brunch place in Barcelona but so good
  2. Chupitos: A bar with really creative shots. I roasted a marsh mellow on a flaming shot, so that was pretty cool.
  3. Labyrinth: A park with a cool maze made out of bushes. The maze lasted about five minutes total, but the park was pretty
  4. Spanish movie theater: This wasn’t even on my list, but I went with my roommates to see “Finding Dory” and it was the coolest thing ever. The movie food was the best I’ve ever had and the Spanish subtitles were hilarious because you can tell some things just don’t translate.
  5. The Bunkers pt. 2: We’ve been saying we want to go back there since we went the very first week, and tonight we’re finally going. I’ve seen a lot of views this trip, but I think this one really is my favorite.

This past weekend we went to Ibiza and it was like a movie. I feel like I was either in a pool or at the beach all weekend. We got there Friday morning, checked into our hostel, then went straight to the beach. The beach near our hostel was gorgeous and way smaller and more private than Barcelona beaches, so it was a nice change of pace. Not to mention the water was so blue it didn’t even look real. That night we went to the famous Fiesta de Agua at a club called Es Paradise where water starts raining from the ceiling around 3 a.m. and the whole club just turns into a giant pool party. Casual, right? The next day we went to Ocean Beach, which was another pool party that looked like it was straight out of a music video. The next day we continued the water theme and went to a club on the beach then the hotel where Avicii was playing, which of course, was decked out with tons of palm trees and a massive pool in the middle of the stage area. In between the beach and the hotel we managed to exercise our American-ness at a giant Steak and Shake. That double burger was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten hands down. Avicii’s performance was amazing. Even more amazing: seeing one of my sorority sisters from UF who I didn’t even know was going to be there in the middle of the crowd during the concert. Small world. After the concert we celebrated the end of our weekend by walking down to the beach and jumping in the ocean. The cab driver who took us back to our hostel was not amused when he realized we were all sitting in his car soaking wet and sandy, but I have no regrets.

Our flight wasn’t until 10:30 p.m. on Monday, but our hostel checkout time was 11 a.m., so we were homeless for a good 10 hours. We were all so exhausted from the past three days that we just asked the front desk to keep our luggage and attempted to nap by the pool until it was time to cab to the airport. I say “attempted” because it was probably close to 100 degrees with no breeze and we all felt like we might die any second from heat stroke. The hostel also didn’t have air conditioning. Neither did any restaurant or store we were in all weekend, so that was pretty rough. At least we have fans here in our un-air conditioned apartment in Barcelona.

Things I learned in Ibiza:

  1. Ibiza is hot
  2. Every activity revolves around a pool
  3. Booking flights home for 10:30 at night is not the ideal decision
  4. No matter where you go in the world, there’s always a change you’ll run into someone you know
  5. Sometimes cab drivers have songs from the “Frozen” soundtrack on their playlist (We jammed out on the way to the airport)
  6. I want to go back to Ibiza

Now that the crazy weekend is over and finals are officially underway, it’s finally hitting me that we have less than three days left in this beautiful city that has been my home for the past month and a half. There are so many things I’m going to miss about living here that I couldn’t even begin to list them. Instead I’ll just say that knowing I have to leave so soon is one of the saddest things I’ve ever experienced. I guess the good news is that I still have a week left of traveling left after my program ends, so things could be worse. Madrid, Dublin, and London, I’m comin for ya.

 

Leave a Reply

