Procrastination Station

There is so much that I planned to do while abroad. I was going to travel, see monuments, experience different cultures, and have the summer of a lifetime. Somewhere in the middle of all of these plans that I made for myself, I forgot about the actual studying component of studying abroad.

The reality of the situation is that I didn’t really remember about the studying part of studying abroad until this past week when it all hit the fan. I suddenly got very overwhelmed very quickly. Two 3,000 word papers, an exam, and dealing with a foreign administration all within a seven-day period and I felt the full weight of the world. The worst part being that it was all fully my fault. I did not plan well at all. I allowed myself to get distracted by all of the enchantment of Europe and completely forgot about the academic component of the whole experience.

This blog post is completely dedicated to warning all future students of this potentiality. Procrastination, and more recently senioritus, have been haunting me for the summer.  That is not to say that I am a bad student, but rather that I have allowed myself to so easily get distracted by the wonders of Europe. After talking with program director, I was informed that this is a pretty common occurrence. My advice for future students? Get a great planner, use the calendar app on your phone, and avoid the last minute craziness!

Leave a Reply

