¡Súper Preparada¡

So I don’t think it’s sunk in yet that in four days I’m going to get on a plane, fly to another continent and live there for seven weeks. Four. Days. I don’t think it will really sink in until I actually step off the plane in Barcelona this Friday…and honestly probably not even then because I’ll more than likely be delirious from traveling for 24 hours straight. Because I’m coming from Pensacola, the proud home of an airport with a total of eight whole gates (!!!), I’ll be flying out from New Orleans. From there I go to Philadelphia then straight to Barcelona on an eight-hour flight arriving bright and early at 8:55 a.m. Since it’s an overseas flight I’m allowed to start an early celebration of my arrival shortly after boarding with a little lot of champagne, right? Also, I recently found out three of my roommates, whom I’ve never met, are on the same flight out of Philadelphia so it looks like I won’t be celebrating alone 🙂

With only four days until I leave the country, it seems like I should be doing a lot to prepare. Here’s how that’s going:

  1. Make a list of all the things I need to do/get before I leave
  2. Procrastinate doing/getting every single item on the list because “I still have so much time”
  3. Push all responsibilities to the back of my mind and forget about said list
  4. Have mini panic attack at 2 a.m. thinking about everything I said I needed to do but still haven’t done
  5. Update list with intention of doing better this time and plan to go shopping the next morning
  6. The next morning: go to the beach
  7. Start at step number 2 and repeat

This has basically been going on since I got home from school about a month ago, so I would say I’m doing pretty well. In the midst of all the procrastination I have managed to spend an irrational amount of money on new clothes, and that definitely counts as preparation. I also got a bunch of travel sized shampoo’s etc. By “got” I mean gave my mom a vague list that (maybe) helped her purchase these items for me. After explaining my procrastination cycle in-depth, I’m now realizing that I have a lot to do in these last four days so this is where I’ll end my first post. I’m also now realizing that the next time I post I’ll be in España, and that’s muy emocionante¡¡¡¡¡ Google translate told me that means “very exciting,” but I’m not sure I trust it. Either way, very, very exciting!!

Leave a Reply

