Bonjour Paris!

IMG_7603
I know what you’re thinking, “Wow what an original title!”. Well, I’ve been working on it since I got here. It’s been a little over a week since arrived in Paris and it has rained every day. Ok, I’m exaggerating but it feels like it has rained almost every day. Apart from my first Saturday here, where the sun came out to welcome me, it has been gray, foggy and COLD with slight showers. The temperature has not risen to more than 65 degrees and to think it’s June and I came from 90 degree weather in Miami. According the news here in Paris this weather is very uncommon. The Seine has risen to major levels and in places has overflowed. This has forced the Louvre to close in order to move artwork out of harms way. Below you can see a photo of the high water level affecting the river boat tour locations.
IMG_7548

The first week I’ve been here I feel as though I’ve already drastically improved my french. I think that intensive french class for 3 hours, 4 times a week has definitely helped. While there is still a lot of finger pointing and just responding “oui” (yes) to a lot of the questions I am asked; I now know that the french do not pronounce their ps which is important when saying Champs Élysées. I very much enjoy my class because it forces me to get out of my comfort zone and try to express myself in a different language, an act motivated by the fact that my teacher speaks very little english. This has helped my not feel as shy when speaking to others outside of the classroom, something I desperately still need to work on.

Even though it has not stopped raining and I might not have brought the most appropriate attire from my closet back home, it still feels surreal to be here. I walk through the streets of Paris appreciating the architecture, the simple Parisian fashion, and the magic of it all and still feel like it will all disappear in an instant. I’m sure it will all feel real as I’m packing to go home in two months.
IMG_7498 IMG_7511

Leave a Reply

