Last Week in France

Hello everyone!

This is already my last week in France before heading back to America. I’m actually really excited to be going back home. I miss Florida so much…my friends and family, the beach, the sunshine, and just my life/routine in general. Now seeing things in hindsight, I take back what I said in the beginning on the semester when I said I wish I could have done the yearlong exchange. For me, 6 months was the perfect amount of time. However, I say that because I’m in my last year of school (I think I’ve said this a million times – it’s probably due to the excitement of finishing school and starting a new chapter of my life I imagine :P). So because of that, I have many things to organize in my life, such as preparing for graduation and other future career prospects. But if I were a junior still, I would definitely recommend doing the complete academic year abroad. Did I already mention that at Sciences Po it is mandatory to all students to spend the senior year abroad? I honestly think it should be like that everywhere. Studying abroad really helped me and changed me in many positive ways, but I will discuss that further in my last blog post next week after coming back home.

My plans for my last week in Reims are to relax, relax, and relax. Ah, il dolce far niente! ☺ I can’t believe I am done with all of my finals and other school works. I can’t believe my time at Sciences Po is ending. This was such a tough semester. I had a million things in mind to get done. What a relief that now I have finally some time for myself. Sadly, most of my good friends already left Reims to go back home – which is quite upsetting since now I’m all-alone. So I’m taking this time to reflect on everything that has happened this semester, catch up on my reading list (!!!) that I completely forwent halfway onwards during the semester due to a complete lack of time. And of course, during this last week I will have to be dealing with the not-so-much-fun stuff such as closing bank and electricity accounts, deep cleaning my room for the residence check out, and also sending all the household things I can’t bring with me to donation centers (I’ve seen some other exchange folks just throwing them away – come on guys, donate!!!) before heading back home.

So it is what it is. All good things come to an end. À bientôt France!

2 thoughts on “Last Week in France

  1. Hi! I’ve read your experiences as an exchange student in Reims and it sounds pretty amazing & with a lot hardwork! I would like to please ask you a quick question if there are any exchange students who went to Reims during their second year or are they all from third/fourth year in their home countries. I’m a prospective student and I really am eager to know if second year students are also eligible. Thank you very much.

    • Hi Puppy! Yes, there were many exchange students who were sophomores, so I wouldn’t worry about that. Please go, it will probably be one of the best experiences you’ll ever have. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

