Counting Down the Days

Three. That’s the number I’m looking at right now. Just a simple Thursday, Friday and Saturday until I’m finally in Europe, but let me tell you, it isn’t as easy as one, two, three.

Before I leave there have been growing numbers of goodbye’s, many shopping trips and last-minute Amazon Prime orders. Getting prepared for a six-week trip out of the country isn’t something I’m familiar with, but what’s the worst that could happen? Even if I get to Florence and realize I forgot my retainer, I may have crooked teeth but I’ll be in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. That is okay with me.

That’s the general outlook I have about this experience. Live in the moment, take it all in, and don’t sweat the small stuff. Many people have told me that it will be tough to adjust to an entirely foreign culture. It’s easy to forget I will be surrounded by unfamiliar tongues and everything I need will be paid for by pieces of paper that previously served no purpose for me. But what’s easy to remember is that I’ll still be in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. That is okay with me.

Bottom line: I’m so excited that the anxieties that may come these last three days in America can’t phase me. So far I’ve read up on places to eat, reviewed my old art history notes (I knew they’d come in handy some day), and I’ve familiarized myself with with my apartment’s surroundings – thanks to trusty Google Earth. These next three days may be the longest I’ve ever met in my short life, but after I get through them I’ll get to meet one of the most beautiful cities in the world. That is more than okay with me.

 

Leave a Reply

