Teal: Summer in Barcelona

Teal Garth is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Summer B 2016 in Barcelona, Spain.  To learn more about her program, click here: ISA – Barcelona (Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona International Studies, Business, & Culture).

GARTH, TEAL

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    Year: rising junior, Major: journalism, Outside concentration/minor: undecided.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    As a graduation present for me/50th birthday present for my mom, my family traveled to Europe for three weeks a couple years ago. We went to the Netherlands, France, Italy and Germany.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    Nope, first time!
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am studying in Barcelona for several reasons. First, because I have never been to Spain so I wanted the chance to experience a new culture and explore new places. Secondly, I have met quite a few people that have studied abroad in or visited Barcelona and everyone goes on and on about how much they loved it. Lastly, I love that it’s a big city with a lot to offer, which is really exciting, and it’s on the coast and the beach, whatever continent it may be on, is my favorite place in the world to be.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I’m literally looking forward to everything about it so this is kind of hard. If I had to narrow it down I would have to say definitely being in Europe again because I had so much fun last time, meeting new people and experiencing new places, and emerging myself in the culture (AKA eating tons of food).
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    My hobbies mostly consist of online shopping, binge watching Netflix, and spending an obscene amount of money on pizza that my body really doesn’t need. Sometimes I do real things like write for the Odyssey or this blog or, worst case scenario, my classes. On a more serious note, learning about other cultures is something I’ve realized I’m actually very interested in (I’m not just in this to make my friends jealous with all my stories when I come back for fall semester). I’m in the process of pursuing a master’s degree in Global Strategic Communication and I’m thinking about doing my outside concentration in Spanish, so maybe this trip will help lock down some of those decisions for me!
Leave a Reply

