Emma: Summer in London

Emma Slotabec is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Summer C 2016 in London, England.  To learn more about her program, click here: UF in London – Business/Internship.

SLOTABEC, EMMA

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    This is the summer between my freshman and sophomore year – Marketing major, Mass Communications minor.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    While traveling has always been a love of mine, I’ve only been out of the country a handful of times – and they were very brief periods! My absolute favorite trip abroad so far was a week I spent in London.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    This is my first time studying abroad, and I truly cannot wait.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I am spending this summer studying abroad in London, England. My situation is unique, as I am actually a citizen of both the United States and the United Kingdom! My family is from England and though I have only visited the country twice (one of the times I was only 3 years old), I am very proud of my British heritage. I chose to go abroad in London in order to spend this time exploring the country on my own and getting to know the place where my family is from.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    The part of this study abroad trip that I most look forward to is becoming a “local” of the city. I can’t wait to learn the local phrases, habits, attitudes, and business practices. My goal is that by the end of the trip, Londoners won’t be able to tell that I’m not one of them!
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    Some of my interests that I hope to entertain while abroad are theatre and writing. I am a huge theatre nerd, and therefore will be spending a large majority of my time on the West End. I already have a list of shows that I want to see – student discount lines, here I come! In addition to attending theatre productions both big and small, I am excited to be writing about my experiences through this blog!
Leave a Reply

