Elizabeth: Summer in Amman

Elizabeth Pantaleon is a University of Florida student studying abroad for Summer C 2016 in Amman, Jordan.  To learn more about her program, click here: CET – Amman (Middle East Studies & Internship).

PANTALEON, LIZ

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a rising senior pursuing dual degrees in international studies focused in the Middle East and public relations. Additionally, I have a minor in Arabic and am a part of the International Scholar’s Program, the Peace Corps Prep program and Florida Opportunity Scholars Academy of Leadership.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have traveled previously to Mexico and the Bahamas for vacation with family.
  • Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
    This will be my first time studying abroad, and I am so excited to embark on this journey!
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    I will be studying and interning in Amman, Jordan, through CET Academic Programs’ Middle East Studies and Internship program. The program is hosted at the University of Jordan in Amman. It has been my dream to study abroad in the Middle East since I made my first ever friend from the region back in 2011. I realized I didn’t know much about this part of the world, so I became very passionate about learning more about the region and even began learning Arabic. Fast forward to now, I have been studying Modern Standard Arabic for three years and have also studied Syrian dialect, along with picking up different dialects from friends from a variety of Arabic-speaking countries.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I am looking forward to making great strides in my Arabic and immersing myself in a different culture. During my eight-week program I will be experiencing Ramadan, which is a monthlong Islamic holiday. I am excited to experience this very important and culturally rich time for many Jordanians. Although, I will be immersing myself in what seems to be a completely different culture, I am looking forward to uncovering the similarities that exist between Arabic culture and my own Cuban-American upbringing. Additionally, I am looking forward to making new friends, eating delicious food and visiting some of Jordan’s national treasures such as Petra, the Wadi Rum dunes and the Dead Sea.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I am a cultural enthusiast, so I absolutely love making friends from different parts of the world and different walks of life. Although I am not musically inclined in anyway, I enjoy listening to music in different languages and dancing to anything that sounds good. I particularly enjoy dancing salsa, bachata, belly dancing and Bollywood fusion. I love playing volleyball and am infamous for my superb napping skills (it’s a blessing and a curse).
3 thoughts on “Elizabeth: Summer in Amman

Leave a Reply

