Prague is Home

Last weekend, I had the privilege of spending some time in Copenhagen. It was way colder than it is in Prague however it was nice to see another city in a different country. I never would have thought I would go to Denmark! During the weekend, I broke away from a group in order to do the things I was interested in- which were the things that were my favorite activities. I got to see The Little Mermaid, Christiania ( a small hippy free town), The Jewish Museum, The Danish Museum, the Black Diamond Royal Library, and more. One of the events of the weekend included a 3 hour walking tour. This walking tour wasn’t anything special. It seemed as though Copenhagen does not have much history and much of the city is under construction so it wasn’t so beautiful. During this long walking tour, I was reminded of how special Prague is. No city compares to it. The history is rich, the culture is strong, and the sites are breathtaking. When it was time to leave Copenhagen, I was stoked to return to Prague. It was the first time it felt like I was returning home.

Though I had intentions of leaving Prague for the weekend, I was excited and relieved that it didn’t work out. Instead, I spent the weekend traveling to different places in the Czech Republic. I think it is important to see what this country offers and get a grasp of its whole history. On Thursday, I went to Kutna Hora to see the Bone Chapel. It was a stunning chapel that is decorated with all of the bones of the human body. Though creepy at first, it was quite beautiful. On Friday, I went with a friend to Karlstejn to see the famous castle. Instead of going in, we decided to hike for a few hours. It was absolutely stunning. We saw these spectacular water formations call Big America and Little America. The hike wasn’t hard and it was great to be in nature. The village itself is small so it was good to be out of the city. I am so excited to continue to explore Prague and its surrounding cities.

 

 

Leave a Reply

