Week 5.

When it gets a little boring in Reims, we go to Paris. So that’s what my friends and I did last weekend. It was so much fun! We visit the Eiffel tower, walked around Champs Elysées, visited the L’arc de Triomphe, went to Quartier Latin, Saint Germain, and finally, the Musée du Louvre. As I had imagined, the Parisian people are the epitome of class. The French seem to know how to be stylish since they are born 😛 What is very interesting, however, is that they have this “carefree” and “natural” style that is nonetheless very sophisticated. The girls don’t put a lot of make of makeup and are not perfectly groomed, but they have that je ne sais quoi everybody talks about that you just want to figure it out. From my experience in Brazil and also in the United States, when I see sophisticated ladies, they typically look perfect. Perfect like Barbie dolls, sometimes to the point that is borderline artificial. Everything is in the right place. In Paris, they are NOT perfect. But they have this charm. I don’t know if it’s the unruly hair, the face that looks like they just woke up, but the whole ensemble comes out as classy, graceful, and real. And it doesn’t matter what age or gender, these people know how to dress! So I just sit here and try to learn a thing or two about their sense of style.

It didn’t happen much this week in Reims. I’m really busy with my classes and also with internship applications since it’s my last year at UF! To top it all off, spring break starts next week and I had to allocate time to my already tight schedule to plan something exciting with my friends (it’s all about balance guys!). We decided to do a little tour in Scandinavia. We’ll do Copenhagen, Stockholm, Goteborg, and Oslo. I’m so excited! As this is my first time in Europe, one thing I was looking forward to was the traveling I was going to be able to do during my time off! And also, I’ve been wanting to visit the Nordic countries for a long time now. It seems to be such a magical (frigid indeed, especially during this time of the year), but still a picturesque little place to see! I’ve never seen decent amounts of snow, so I hope to see some next week!

One thing I notice I didn’t talk about yet in my posts was the food. Yes, it is everything people talk about. French food is amazing. In fact, I’ve become addicted to crêpes. Sweet, salty, it doesn’t matter. I love them all! I eat them all. Honestly this week, I made crêpes every single day. Also, the beef and salmon tartare are very popular plates everywhere you go. I was a little skeptical to try it at first since it is raw meat, but I must say it’s amazing! The taste is so rich and flavorful. The consistency is different (as expected of course), but if you like sashimi you’ll love it! Actually, everything that I tried is very flavorful here and I haven’t had any bad experiences with food whatsoever. Every plate you try is an experience per se!

To finish off here’s me and my lovely friends having fun under the Parisian sun (well, the sun didn’t really come out that day but… imagine if it had!!! 😛 )

 

 

Leave a Reply

