Jennifer: Spring in London

Jennifer Saporito is a University of Florida student studying abroad for the Spring 2016 semester in London, England.  If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in London – Business/Internship.

Jennifer Saporito

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a second year finance major interested in obtaining a Masters in International Business.  I am applying to this Masters program in late spring.  I am planning on doing the combined undergraduate and graduate school option.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I have never travelled or studied abroad before. So, I am quite excited for this opportunity to live and study in London.  Europe is calling, and I cannot wait to travel and see what all of the different countries have to offer me.
  • Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
    This spring I am studying abroad in London, England.  London is one of the most diverse cities in the world.  London is also one of the biggest business centers in the world.  Isn’t it crazy that a finance major wants to study business in one of the largest cities designed for this sole purpose?  (I don’t think so.)  I have chosen England because the Heavener School of Business has a wonderful program in conjunction with the Foundation for International Education.  The program I have entered is not only a study abroad program, it is also an international internship program. Therefore, after I complete my first phase of classes, I will enter an internship phase with a local British company while working and learning real-world finance.
  • What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
    I have two things that I am really excited about doing during my study abroad experience.  First, I cannot wait to experience and live in England.  I have always been fascinated by British culture and I absolutely cannot wait to witness it firsthand every single day.  The second thing I am quite excited for is my international internship.  I previously had an American internship last summer and it was a very good experience for me.  However, I believe that an international internship will help me grow so much more as a business student and as a person.  I cannot wait to see what type of cultural barriers might occur and how I am going to handle and overcome these situations.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love to read.  I will read almost anything and everything.  If I’m bored while eating breakfast, I read the cereal box.  In the shower, I read the backs of shampoo bottles.  Reading is one of my favorite hobbies.  I just love being able to get lost in a world where time doesn’t exist.One thing I could not live without is music.  I will listen to almost any type of music genre except for country.  I’m sorry to anyone who likes this genre, but I just cannot do it. (I have tried though.)  One Direction is probably my favorite group because their music is so much fun to listen and dance to.  It also doesn’t hurt that they are all very attractive (PS I love you Harry Styles.)  Getting back to my point, music is very important to me.  You will all probably see that I relate specific songs to events that occur in my daily life.  I might include some of these along with specific blog entries. I just love the way that music is the soundtrack to all of our lives and it is truly international.

    Some of my other hobbies include film, photography (which all of you will get to experience eventually), soccer, volleyball, travelling, and blogging (what a coincidence!).  I like to think that I am a very interesting person and this study abroad adventure is contributing to this notion.  Stay tuned as I go on one of the most incredible journeys of my life.

Leave a Reply

