The One Where Madrid is Home

It’s crazy how fast time flies by here, even though days in Madrid are ridiculously long. It’s definitely a good thing though, because there’s always so much I want to do!

Never really thought I’d say this, but I love my classes here. They’re a lot smaller than what I’m used to, as my classes here range from 5 to 10 students. I didn’t know how to feel about that at first, but it makes for a lot more one on one time. The USAC staff and professors here are fabulous and I know they always have my back.

Even though I usually have to spend some time doing homework and studying every day, the true learning is outside the classroom. I’ve learned more Spanish speaking to my host family than I have through worksheets. There’s no better way to learn a language and a city than by getting lost in it (which I have done a few times).

This past weekend I managed to squeeze two other cities in, and I’m so glad I did. Friday I went on a “field trip” with my program and a majority of other students to Segovia. What a beautiful city. Our tour guide told us that Alcanzar, the castle featured below, was the inspiration for Cinderella’s Castle, but I’m pretty sure that’s said about every castle.

IMG_1465

My second city I traveled to was Valencia. My first train ride! I love Valencia because it has the feel of a big city but without being as crowded as Madrid. I spent a lot of time at the beach as well as La Ciudad de Artes y Ciencias (The City of Arts and Sciences). We also went to the aquarium there, which is the largest aquarium in Europe!

IMG_1512

Madrid feels like home now. I’ve gotten used to all the public transportation, but I still feel like I see something new each day. I guess that’s part of the excitement of living in a big city!

