Farewell

I’ve been home a little over a week now. It’s funny how long six weeks seemed when we arrived in Madrid and how it felt so short in the end. I know I will have to go back someday – there’s so much that Spain has to offer.
I didn’t expect to feel disoriented upon my arrival in Atlanta, and yet I felt strange. I bumped into someone and apologized in Spanish, and when I went to eat lunch realized I had a billfold full of Euros and had to rummage a bit at the counter.
Driving again was strange, too. I never was very good beforehand, and I was terrified the first time I got back behind the wheel. …I lived…
I miss my host mom: I was so timid when I met her that I hardly spoke at all for the first day, but she was a kind and excellent hostess, and we had definitely bonded by program’s end. However, it wasn’t really goodbye – we have WhatsApp to send each other periodic updates.
Now that I’m back, I feel a deeper appreciation for the comforts of home, but I miss Spain, too. All things must come to an end but I’m grateful for the time I was there.
¡Adios!
-Victoria M. 6-26-2015

Leave a Reply

