Winding Down

Only three days left in our summer program in Spain! While we miss our families, friends, and macaroni and cheeses, we are all sad to leave! Spain has grown on us.

Tomorrow we have our last classes and tomorrow night we will return to the ISA building for a farewell dinner. Tuesday night at ten, we will board a bus back to Madrid where we will catch our separate flights home on Wednesday.

First off: apologies. Between the excursion to Lisbon and the demanding nature of our classes, I did not get around to writing about Granada and Córdoba. So now I must backtrack a bit chronologically.

Córdoba and Granada are both wonderful, and I have given up on trying to rank the best places that we have been. Every place has something amazing and special about it.

When I was in elementary school, I did a small research project on the Mezquita-catedral de Córdoba, and have found it fascinating ever since. Well, now I can say that I have been there and that pictures do not really do it justice (and especially not mine – while in the Mezquita, my camera suddenly broke and I had to resort to my phone…)
The Mezquita has been both a mosque and a church at varying points in its history. Since 1236 AD, it has functioned as a Catholic church. It was built on the site of a Roman temple. Some columns from this temple were used in the construction of the Mezquita’s hypostyle hall.


(Photo: Mezquita-catedral de Córdoba)

Lunch in Córdoba was one of the best meals I have had in Spain. I tried “rabo de toro” – bull’s tail. Very, very tender and tasty! I also had some of the best sangria out of the trip there.


(Photo: Rabo de toro. Yes, I took a picture.)

No one was left unimpressed by Granada, for there one will find the Alhambra! However, the night before visiting the Alhambra, ISA treated our group to a Flamenco show. Tinto de verano was passed around and fun was had by all.

The real attraction of course (as I hinted above) was the Alhambra which has existed in part since 889 AD. It also held palaces for Muslim emirs starting in 1333. After the Reconquista, it has also been used by Spanish royal families. (As an aside, I would like to shout out to any Game of Thrones fans who will recognize it as Sunspear in “Dorne”. This has made this season very exciting for me. 😉 ). I would also like to shout out to the tourist who pronounced the Alhambra’s Palacio de Generalife as “General Life”. I do not know how you made it this far in Spain but good job, I guess.


(Photo: Patio de los Leones, Alhambra)

Jumping back to present: this weekend we went as a group to Málaga, capital of the Costa del Sol, and birthplace of both Pablo Picasso and Antonio Banderas. The Picasso museum was very cool and we had an amazing and very informative guide. Before, I was never sure if I liked Picasso’s art, but now I can definitely say that I do, and I recommend visiting this museum if you ever visit Málaga for yourself. Afterward, ISA led us through Málaga’s Cathedral, known as “La Manquita”.

Then we were free to roam. Jonathan (“Jota P”) and I decided to go visit the remains of a Roman theater nearby. The theater sits below the Alcazaba which we decided to visit as well. It is like a much smaller (and, I have to say, less impressive) Alhambra.


(Photo: Teatro Romano de Málaga)

We spent our last hour in Málaga at the beach! It’s known as the “Playa de la Malagueta” and is on Spain’s Mediterranean coast. Jota P even found a sizable collection of sea glass there.


(Photo: Playa de Malagueta)

The adventures can’t continue forever, however, and now it is time for us to say our goodbyes and pack.

Leave a Reply

