Taylor: Summer in Utrecht

Taylor TubbsTaylor is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Utrecht, Netherlands. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Utrecht – Doing Business in Europe

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    My name is Taylor Tubbs and I have just finished my second year at the University of Florida studying Business Economics with a minor in History. In the fall of 2015, I am starting work on my Master’s in International Business degree, which I plan to complete in the spring of 2017.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    I decided to travel abroad this summer because I knew it was something that I always wanted to do, and due to restraints on my schedule it is the optimal time for me to go. I have never traveled to Europe before, but have traveled extensively in North America. I’ve been to the Bahamas, the Caribbean, Canada, Mexico, and over thirty states. I love America, but I am excited to visit places that have thousands instead of hundreds of years of history.
  • Why did you choose the program you’re studying on?
    I am studying abroad in Utrecht, Netherlands for six weeks this summer. I chose this program for multiple reasons: there is a Doing Business in Europe track which suits my major, it is during the summer B term, and it is different from many other programs in that it takes place in a smaller college town as opposed to a huge city such as London or Paris. I have always preferred the small town feel, and the active lifestyle of the Dutch appeals to me as well.
    An active lifestyle is important to me as I am a member of the cross country and track teams at the University of Florida. Studying abroad is logistically difficult since I have to be in Gainesville for practice and competitions during every semester except for summer B. Even though there is not compulsory attendance practice summer B, I still run and train every day during the summer averaging around 50 miles a week of running. Outside of college athletics I am involved in a number of activities at UF. I am a teaching assistant for the principles of macroeconomics and microeconomics classes, where I hold office hours, proctor exams, and create teaching videos for students. I volunteer with Good Will Gators at elementary schools in Alachua County and a representative for SAAC, the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    Every weekend I get the chance, I drive the three hours south to my hometown of Sebring, Florida. I enjoy fishing, hunting with my little brother and Dad, and riding four-wheelers around our property. I love the small town that I grew up in, but I am excited to see what lies across the pond for me.
Leave a Reply

