Rachel: Summer in Utrecht

Rachel ReissRachel is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Utrecht, Netherlands. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Utrecht – European Studies

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a Political Science major with minors in History, and Agricultural and Natural Resource Ethics and Policy. I am also pursuing a Public Affairs certificate and this fall, will be starting a combined degree program to get my Master’s in Management. Evidently, my interests are all over the place!
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
     I traveled to Italy with my favorite high school social studies teacher and 6 friends the summer before my junior year in high school. My teacher led an EF Tour (through the company) every summer, and when I expressed my interest in traveling with her, she told me to choose a destination, and Italy it was! We went everywhere (Venice, Sorrento, Pompeii, Capri, Florence, Rome). Last winter, I went to Israel on birthright, a Jewish heritage trip for young adults. I went with a total of 40 UF students for 11 days.
  • Why did you choose the program you’re studying on?
    I am studying abroad in Utrecht, in the Netherlands, a medieval city with a cosmopolitan feel. It is only about 25 minutes outside of Amsterdam, and will give me the cultural experience I look forward to. Centuries of history, bicycles, canals are as idyllic as they would seem, and this program combines all of my interests in culture, history, and politics into an exchange program where I can learn amongst students from every corner of the globe (not to mention go on multiple European excursions).
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    Travel trumps all, though of course, I also love baking – especially healthy treats, reading, writing/blogging, playing music (I play four instruments and used to be a band nerd), watching scary movies, and frequenting coffee shops. I also like to explore outdoors and stay active, so I am super excited about traveling in the Netherlands, since I already have a bike tour and night canoeing trip lined up.
Leave a Reply

