Emily: Summer in Beijing

Emily CardinaliEmily is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Beijing, China. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Beijing – Chinese Language

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a Journalism senior with a minor in Mandarin.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    My mom is from Taiwan, and we fly out every other summer to see them. I picked up some Chinese here and there that way. I’ve never studied abroad before!
  • Why did you choose the program you’re studying on?
    This summer, I’ll be studying Chinese at Tsinghua University in Beijing. Tsinghua is one of the best universities in China, and UF offered the advanced Chinese classes I needed there, so it was a perfect fit. I’ve never been to China before, only Taiwan, and I’ve wanted to see the mainland for pretty much my entire life.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    As a journalism student, I’m a news junkie. I love to parse through newspapers from all over the world and experience news through different lenses. When I’m not poring through the news, I’m an a knitter just trying to make more than lumpy socks.
Leave a Reply

