Courtney: Summer in Lille

Courtney DiSangroCourtney is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Lille, France. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: Catholic University of Lille (European Summer Program). 

  • What is your year and academic concentration?
    I am a psychology major (behavioral and cognitive neuroscience) and on the pre-med track. I hope to become a neurologist in the future.
  • Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
    This will be my first time travelling abroad to a different country. The farthest I’ve been besides this is Puerto Rico, which I went to for a vacation in the summer and for New Years. This is my first time studying abroad (and hopefully not my last!)
  • Why did you choose the program you’re studying on?
    I am studying in Lille, France. Since I can remember, I have always wanted to go to France. It’s like since I was born I just loved everything with an Eiffel Tower, and the French language has always seemed the most beautiful to me. I chose France because of my desire to go since I was little and also because I took 4 years of French in high school so it’ll be easier for me to get around, knowing some of the language already. I chose Lille because it looked like a town that I would be able to fully experience the culture without all of the tourists.
  • What are some of your interests and hobbies?
    I love to sing and I sing in the Gainesville Civic Chorus with the University Choir here at UF. I have a great appreciation for the arts so I love to go to concerts, musicals, and art exhibits. I also played basketball for 10 years although I stopped when I came to college, but I still love to play recreationally and go to all of the Gator games. I enjoy keeping up with fashion as well, which I’ll be in the fashion capital of the world this summer and experience Parisian fashion (very exciting). Finally, I’m just a very adventurous person in general so you could find me hiking around Paynes Prairie, stuffing my mouth with Reggae Shack, or cheering at a football game. I love trying new things and I will definitely be trying as much as I can in France!
One thought on “Courtney: Summer in Lille

  1. This is so great, Courtney. I’m glad you’re truly experiencing the culture and learning so much. What a brave and adventurous spirit you have! I look forward to reading future posts!

Leave a Reply

