Getting Settled…

I have been in Berlin now for two and a half weeks. The city has seemingly shrunk as I get more comfortable. I am now pretty conifident in my ability to use the public transportation and not get lost. Now that I think about it, I’ve only gotten lost once and I think that’s pretty impressive.

I haven’t felt well ever since I arrived in Berlin, but now I think I am in the throws of actually being sick. These past few days, I’ve been really tired and have been sneezing and coughing. It seems like everyone in my German class is sick, too. We had a test today and part of the test was listening to an audio recording, which was made even more difficult with the wheezing and sneezing around the room.

These past two weeks, one thing I’ve heard from the locals is that Berlin isn’t Germany, so I guess I came to the wrong place to experience German culture. I can see waht they mean because the other day it took me a long time to find a restaurant that actually served German food. But I’m still really enjoying my time here. The buildings are all huge and can be really majestic. Just walking down a street, you never know what you’ll find. The city is really varied, too. There are all these different neighbourhoods and each one is unique. It is really fun when you go to a friend’s place or a bar in another part of town.

I think it’s kind of safe to say that the glamour of Berlin has worn down. Now I read on the subway to pass the time by rather than look out the windows of the train. I have gone to one of the famous museums and have seen part of the Wall, but outside of that I haven’t done very much sightseeing. I really hope to do some more, and will when the weather gets warmer and I feel better.

I have planned a couple of things that I’m excited about. In a couple of weeks for Easter, I’m going to visit my distant relatives in Weidenberg. I’m really looking forward to seeing the country and experiencing some “actual” German culture. I also really need someone with whom to practice my German. I also have planned a trip to London in early June to go to a music festival. I only know like 10 of the bands playing (and that might be a stretch) but I’ve been looking up the people who will be playing it on Spotify and I’ve found quite a few that I’ve liked, so I’m really excited for it. I’m also going to a big music festival in Berlin at the end of May with some people from my German course. It should be really fun, and it’s actually quite close to where I live.

Sorry this is a shorter post; I don’t feel well enough and have quite a bit of paperwork to do before I can go home. I will post soon!

Leave a Reply

