Potluck

Tonight I taught everyone the word “potluck.” In the South, potluck is a heavenly word. It means that all the ladies in your church that have the best secret recipes whip them out and you get to eat a little bit of everyones home cooked food.

I wanted my British friends here to experience a couple of “American delicacies” and I did my best to replicate them with the ingredients I had available to me.

potluck-1


2015-03-04 20.50.29

America: Biscuits and gravy, Banana pudding, Peanut butter and Jelly, Fluffer nutters, S’more (which we cooked over tea candles), Salsa, Brown sugar pop tarts, air heads, tootsie rolls and tootsie pops.

potluck2

To make the S’more, we had to attempt to roast the marshmallows over tea candles. It didn’t work so well. I’ve learned nothing is like a freshly roasted marshmallow from a bonfire

2015-03-04 20.50.34

Britain: hot cross buns, bourbons, custard creams, chocolate digestives, lemon sherbets, freddos, milky bar, licorice allsorts, cornish pasties, sausage rolls, scotch eggs and kinder eggs.

Some facts from the evening:

  • Hot cross buns are an Easter tradition. You toast them and then put butter on top. They are really sweet and delicious and have a cross on the top!
  • bourbons taste kind of like less sweet, yet more chocolaty oreos
  • Custard Creams taste like golden oreos
  • Chocolate digestives make really great s’mores! You can skip the chocolate bar and just use two chocolate digestives!
  • Apparently, the British measure inflation by the freddos (which is a really sweet chocolate bar, and delicious!)
  • I really loved the cornish pasties. They have to be made in Cornwall to be called “Cornish” pasties, so tonight I had a “Meat pasty”
  • Sausage rolls are pretty equivalent to our pigs in the blanket, while a pig in the blanket here is a sausage wrapped in bacon
  • Scotch egg is an egg wrapped in minced pork, covered in bread crumbs and fried
  • Lastly, the kinder eggs are apparently illegal in America. It’s a hollow chocolate egg with a toy inside that a child ate and choked on. A common phrase I have heard among my friends is “Guns are legal, but kinder eggs aren’t.” I actually find that ironically funny.

2015-03-04 21.00.30

2015-03-04 21.15.54potluck1

potluck

