Weekend in Bath

 

One of the perks of living in London is having the ability to travel around the beautiful English countryside. This past weekend we spent the night in Bath, and I was surprised by differences between Bath and London. The architecture and uniformity of Bath was unlike anything I had ever seen before. All the homes and buildings are made of the same tan stone and fit well together. Saturday morning we visited the Royal Crescent, which is a set of these homes on a hill overlooking the city, and it ended up being one of my favorite spots.
In Bath, I loved going to the Roman Baths and the Thermae Spa. The Roman baths were beyond incredible and I was stunned by the condition they remained in. It was exciting to see one of my favorite aspects of Roman life so well preserved and in person. It helped me connect even more to my classics major and fall more in love with the Roman Empire.
Going to the Thermae Spa was another highlight of the weekend. The spa was such a wonderful way to relax during this hectic semester. It had three floors, one with a large pool with a bubble section and lazy river, a second with four scented steam room pods (sandalwood, eucalyptus, lotus flower, and lemongrass and ginger), and a third with a rooftop pool. I would recommend a trip to a European spa to any study abroad student, it was the perfect way to spend an evening in Bath.
I enjoyed the ride to and from Bath because we got to see the English countryside and stop at Stourhead Gardens and Stonehenge. Stourhead is know as the Disney World of the 1800s; it has an incredible walking path around a gorgeous lake, along with a stone grotto and a greek temple where Darcy’s first proposal was filmed in Pride and Prejudice. Spending a few hours there was magically, and I could have spent a whole day exploring. I visited Stonehenge when I was in Europe three years ago, so it was nice to see it once again, but also quite cold.
I’m looking forward to seeing more of England this spring break and visiting Florence; stay tuned to hear all about my spring break adventures!

image

