Estoy Enferma

Being away from home is hard, especially when you are in a foreign country without any of your friends. Being away from your comfort zone and being sick is even worse.

Unfortunately I’ve spent these past few days sick and in bed. As soon as I realized I was sick, I wandered to a pharmacy, where I had to practice my Spanish with an extremely hoarse voice, sore throat and congestion. Thankfully the hand gestures for these ailments are international.

Unlike the United States, when you need some cold meds you can’t just wander into a CVS, grab some DayQuil and pay. The pharmacists here ask you what’s wrong, you explain and then they come back with some meds they think fit your symptoms. I got two different medicines, one for my throat and one for congestion that seem to be working pretty well.

I’m not as tired as I have been, but the long walk to school and through the metro is a little difficult. But the meds are definitely working.  I hope I’m better soon because I’ll be traveling to Italy and Greece next week!

I’ve had lots of rest and I am started to be able to function again. Food no longer makes me cringe, so I think that’s a good sign. I attempted to recreate my mom’s homemade chicken noodle soup in hopes of lifting my spirits. Granted, it’s nowhere near as delicious or comforting as her’s, it definitely made me feel a little better and closer to home.

Leave a Reply

