High of 39 with a 20% Chance of Rain

If you would have asked me a couple months ago what the weather will be like when I land in Manchester, England, I would have said cold and rainy; I can now confirm that when I land in Manchester, it will indeed be cold and rainy! The fact that my phone app is now able to tell me the weather forecast starting with the days I will actually be in England means that in no time I will be there myself!

10 day forecast predicts that on January 22, when I land, it will be a high of 39, with a 20% chance of rain.

Right now I am still in Gainesville working full time. It is weird being at UF without actually going to class. Everyone is getting their syllabi and starting on reading their textbooks, and I am just trying to squeeze in every last minute I have with my friends (and squeeze is an understatement). The school I’ll be attending doesn’t start classes until the 26th of January, which is bittersweet. It means that I was given an extended winter break, but it also means I have to wait longer before I can get over there.

My excitement about studying abroad is continuing to grow, but so is my anxiety. I am the only University of Florida student studying at Manchester this semester, so that means that I’m going in this alone. The two things I am most nervous about are not making friends and failing a class, respectively.

I just got my housing assignment a couple days ago, and I am still one class short for the semester, but everything is slowly falling into place. I know that with every day that passes, my trip is getting closer, but it still feels so far away. I know that the time leading up to my semester abroad may feel like forever, but once I get over there it will go faster than the blink of an eye.

There are so many things that have made me believe that I am supposed to be in England this spring, and so many things that make me question if this is what I should be doing. I thank God for my amazing friends that continue to speak truth into my life. I’ll leave you with a bible verse that hangs above the door from Lauren’s bathroom (my amazing friend who is graciously letting me stay with her before I leave… seeing as I am currently homeless), that helped settle some of my restless emotions:

“A persons steps are directed by the Lord. How then can anyone understand their own way?”

– Proverbs 20:24

