Home at last

I have been home for a couple days now. Landing in MIA airport wasn’t much different than the SJO airport because everyone was still speaking Spanish-myself included. All of us experienced reverse culture shock. “Hola” “Permiso” “Con mucho gusto” etc. were all used instead of English. It was funny how often I kept using Spanish. When I landed in Baltimore, English was what I heard so I finally felt home. It was refreshing. Walking out of the airport and getting to see my dad was awesome. Only good, happy feelings.

My first meal back was a sweet little care package from my mom with my favorite indian dish. She also made vegan cookies 🙂
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

It was great to have good food and my family around. I miss my friends and seeing them every day, though. We have all been texting each other though. For example, Caitlin’s first purchase here was plaintains–she was not ready to switch back to American food just yet. However, Alexis was excited to get a fruit smoothie without added sugar.

I am so grateful for this country and how progressive it is. While there is plenty of room for improvement, we have so much in this amazing country. It is great to be home.

The day before I left, I went on a tour to La Paz waterfall, Volcan Poas and a coffee tour. I am going to close out my study abroad blog with some pictures from the last few days. Thank you for allowing me to document my experience and thank you for reading!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Rainbow eucalyptus!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Volcan Poas! So much sulfur dioxide gas…

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
La Paz waterfall, so naturally. 🙂 I REALLY recommend this tour-it was beautiful!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Last night-Skating with the UF crew + friends 🙂

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Last breakfast in Costa Rica!

Leave a Reply

