Kortney: Summer in Innsbruck

Kortney Sweeney

Kortney Sweeney

Kortney Sweeney is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Austria. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: University of New Orleans – Innsbruck

What is your year and field of study?
I am a junior journalism major with a concentration in psychology.

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
I have traveled abroad four times, and I have been to 10 European countries. I visited Italy and France with my father for my 16th birthday. I visited Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, France, Belgium, The Netherlands and Italy with my family. For my high school graduation, I traveled to Austria, Germany and Switzerland with my mom. Last summer I visited London for three weeks and took a weekend trip to Norway. It was a chance for me to visit my sister while she studied abroad in London and allowed me to tour and explore the city on my own.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
I have never studied abroad before. My sister’s amazing experiences from studying abroad three times motivated me to create my own special memories by studying abroad in one of my favorite countries.

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
I am studying abroad in Innsbruck, Austria for six weeks. I have been to Austria two times in my life, and both times I immediately fell in love with the country, people and culture. Each time I take a walk down memory lane and look at my pictures from my adventures in that country, I am reminded of its beauty and charm. Innsbruck is located in the Austrian Alps and offers a breathtaking view of the surrounding mountains. From its bustling streets, quaint neighborhoods and magnificent scenery, Innsbruck is my ideal city.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
As much as I am looking forward to living in Innsbruck, I am most excited about exploring surrounding cities and countries and getting a taste of different European cultures. I also can’t wait to meet the other people in my study abroad program and local Innsbruck students and form friendships I will remember for the rest of my life. As sad as this may sound, I am extremely excited about one of the classes I will be taking. It’s all about German fairytales, which is more of a dream than a class to me!

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
As my major probably implies, I love to write, and I am also an avid reader. I am also extremely interested in art, which happens to be an important aspect of Innsbruck’s culture. Hiking and exploring the outdoors is also a love of mine, and of course I love to travel.

Leave a Reply

