Allison: Summer in Rio

Allison Hillsbery

Allison Hillsbery

Allison Hillsbery is a Georgetown University student studying abroad this summer in Brazil through UF. If you want to learn more about her program, click here: UF in Rio – Language & Culture

What is your year and field of study?
I am a rising sophomore at Georgetown University, majoring in International Business and pursuing two minors (Spanish and Portuguese).

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
I’ve been lucky enough to visit 14 countries on 3 different continents so far (U.S., Mexico, Belize, Ecuador, Morocco, England, Ireland, Spain, Portugal, The Netherlands, Switzerland, France, Austria, Germany). My parents love traveling and think it’s very important to try new things and see life from different perspectives so most of these trips were for family vacations.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
During summer 2012 I participated in a language immersion program at La Universidad de Salamanca in Salamanca, Spain to work on my Spanish.

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
This summer, I am studying abroad in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I want to improve my Portuguese and right now is a really exciting time to be in Rio.

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
I am most looking forward to the day-to-day routine. I want to live like a carioca for a while – get close to my host family, enjoy my classes, and explore the city with new friends.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
Traveling and language are my two great passions. I also love writing (both poetry and prose), hiking and watching movies.

Leave a Reply

