The Last Hurrah

It’s hard to believe that I’m writing this blog post from my seat on the 11-hour flight from Israel to New York. Yes, my time in Tel Aviv has come to an end, and right now I’m wishing more than anything to be able to return to my favorite city. (After all, plane food just doesn’t compare to Israeli breakfast!)

The past few weeks in Tel Aviv were spent soaking in all of Israel’s greatness. Aside from finishing up school, and actually having to log some long hours studying for final exams, I was sure to hit all my favorite spots one last time.

One aspect of Tel Aviv that continued to amaze me during my last days was just how versatile the city is. Even after exploring for nearly five months, there were still new places I discovered during my last days. Tel Aviv University took us on a sponsored trip to “Mini Israel,” located in Latrun. The attraction is a large replica of the entire country at eye level, including everything from The Western Wall to the Galilee Mountains. It was so interesting to walk through this park and recall all of the places I had traveled to throughout the semester. Yet, at the same time, it also made me realize how much I hadn’t seen and what I should look forward to on my next trip.
 photo 10380299_10152465461067354_4727665598923524619_n.jpg
 photo 10388109_10152465461112354_5976052112801029361_n.jpg

Another area my friends and I discovered was Herzliya. Herzliya is just a short ride north of Tel Aviv and is home to some of the wealthiest people in the country. As soon as we got out of the bustling city, I knew I was definitely not in Tel Aviv anymore. Herzliya was beautiful and quiet, with beach homes and villas that resembled those in Miami or LA. Even the beaches were serene and calm with some of the softest sand I had ever touched. As if being in Tel Aviv wasn’t relaxing enough, Herzliya felt like I was on a tropical getaway.
 photo 10338850_10152465461672354_2686061690466573561_n.jpg

It’s hard to put into words just how much Israel has meant to me during this abroad adventure. The people I met and the places I saw were unforgettable and will truly be with me throughout my life. Although I’m sad to be leaving, I know that this is not the end, and that Israel will forever be my home away from home.
 photo 1982023_10152346142922354_1625195301_n.jpg

Stay tuned for a special project I’m working on to recount my amazing semester abroad!

Shalom Israel, and hello America.

Leave a Reply

