Tilman: Summer in Madrid

Tilman Monsanto

Tilman Monsanto

Tilman Monsanto is a University of Florida student studying abroad this summer in Spain. If you want to learn more about his program, click here: IES – Madrid Summer Program

What is your year and field of study?
I am a rising senior (Class of 2015), Anthropology Major with a Spanish Minor. I plan on studying family law after graduation and have aspirations of opening a non-profit organization for at risk youth minorities.

Have you traveled abroad before? If so, where and for what purpose?
No.

Have you studied abroad before? If so, where and what did you study?
No.

Where are you studying abroad and why did you choose to study there?
I will be attending the Universidad Complutense de Madrid in Madrid, Spain. Since taking my first Spanish class in middle school, my interest in learning the Spanish language has only increased. I have heard that the la gente in Madrid is lively but very relaxed at the same time. Not to mention, the culture is built on the art of socializing. What better place to learn to speak the Spanish language?

What are you most looking forward to during your study abroad program?
As a Spanish minor here at the University of Florida, I have my eyes set on becoming business proficient in the language to broaden my future client base. While non-native speakers’ reading and writing skills are usually more easily acquired, the ability to communicate in a social setting is more difficult. I hope to use this full-immersion experience to practice speaking the language as much as possible.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?
I really enjoy meeting new people and being as sociable as possible. When I’m not studying, I enjoy playing tennis, singing along with the latest chart-topper, shopping, or hanging out with friends.

One thought on “Tilman: Summer in Madrid

  1. Pingback: February 10, 2016 | travelingprentice

Leave a Reply

